Gary Snyder in Melbourne

I can’t find any of my notes about the Snyder reading I went to all those years ago. It must have been October 1981, and it was a poetry reading at Melbourne Uni. I’d heard a couple of poets read locally, even heard Peter Porter, who was more international than Australian, even by then, but Gary Snyder was the first overseas poet I’d heard. It was a great reading, inspired me to write and know more about those American poets, who I hadn’t experienced much in my English course, which was pretty English-centered. I went to the Melbourne Uni bookshop and bought Turtle Island, Regarding Wave (a bargain at $7.50) and Riprap, & Cold Mountain Poems’. Much later, I got a copy of Left Out in the Rain (New Poems 1947-1985)

Gary Snyder. The cover photo from ‘Riprap & Cold Mountain Poems’ 1958 Posted by Hello

Leave a Reply

