The Solitary Walker

I enjoyed John Bennett’s article in the most recent Southerly, ‘Get out of the house, go for a bushwalk; disciplining the flaneur*, not the least for its inclusion of a new quote about the virtues of walking. Bennett quotes Rousseau from a book I hadn’t heard of called Memoirs of the Solitary Walker (great title) and this quote:

…never have I thought so much, existed so much, lived so much, been so much myself, if I dare so, than on these [journeys] I made alone and on foot.

*webster’s sez:
Main Entry: fla·neur
Variant(s): also flâ·neur /flä-'n&r/
Function: noun
Etymology: French flâneur
: an idle man-about-town

Leave a Reply

