The Great War


Last year I read Les Carlyon’s history of Gallipoli, this year I read the larger and sadder history called The Great War. Even in a Melbourne summer I found this gloomy and sobering stuff; so many lives, so many meaningless battles, so many random deaths. Carolyn brings the individuals (mainly VC winners admittedly) to life and is able to also paint something of the strategies and the larger picture of the war as it evolved. My grandfather fought somewhere in France in WWI and it’s almost incomprehensible to me that someone I knew and talked to as a child also had a life in this man made hell.

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

