Magnificent Maps

Oh, to be in England, now that the British Library Magnificent Maps Exhibition is about to open this week. It’s reviewed by Jonathan Jones in the Guardian HERE.

Attentive readers will know how much I love maps, and this exhibition features maps that  have rarely been show before, with a focus on the map as an instrument of power and propaganda. I’m ordering the catalogue, but I’d love to be seeing these maps in real life. If you’re in London, get along!

One thought on “Magnificent Maps

  1. Thanks for the ‘heads up’ on this collection – will be sure to add it to my ‘must see’ list for my London visit in September.
    BTW, as I didn’t get Friday off work to hear him in NSW, I settled for reading instead and just finished Robert Gray’s “The Land I Came Through Last” – after the Dawn Service this morning, the themes of loss and memory seem appropriately paralleled. It is truly beautiful to read.

Leave a Reply

