ANZAC Morning

I rode past Memorial Park in Mornington this morning on my bike ride, hoping to catch a glimpse of the ANZAC ceremony which is held there, but they were still setting up. I took this shot with the Iphone.

I was reminded of a an early poem I wrote, about going for a walk in Orange, NSW on ANZAC morning. It was published in my first book, Lost Things & Other Poems (Butterfly Books), so I thought I’d include it here, on this day.

ANZAC Morning in Orange

I thought I was up early
almost alone
in the wide old streets
that run straight and long
country-style through this town
and the trees already turning.

Until the inevitable park & statues
one to Mafeking and one,
laden with flowers
bright and new as morning
to Anzacs.
The park already empty

the sound of bagpipes
somewhere in the distance

Note: Currently, the poetry books are available exclusively from me. Details here.

Leave a Reply

