Maps of the Wimmera

I thought I’d share a couple of maps from the afore-mentioned The Land of the Lowan, which I liked a lot. Mainly because I like maps I suppose, and the vast spaces left blank in these maps of the Western District. And also, because one in the form of a photocopied? extra sheet slipped into the book after the printing was complete.  They probably deserve better scanning than me snapping them with my Iphone, and I might do that later on.

By the way, my edition has the handwritten dedication: ‘With the compliments of Nhill and District Historical Society. F. Bound. President.’

The Society has a web page here and I contacted them to find out more about the book.  Frank Bound himself wrote a book a bit later called Nhill’s fabulous century: a pictorial record of Nhill’s first one hundred years, and I’ll keep an eye out for that one too.

Leave a Reply

