Place in the past

Around this time last year I blogged about a photographer who was juxtaposing images from the past on the exact same place today and I liked the idea, something about the placeness of place, the significance of the actual spot where this happened. You can read that post here

I was reminded of that post today when I saw this short video putting old photos of Anne Frank into the modern landscape, the same place, but subverting the idea in that the originals are coloured in that lovely hand-tinted looking way and the modern places are black and white.

The short film is by Jan Hovers who writes:

“Being a big fan of Retronautic time-travel, I remembered that I directed this video for Dutch television in 1992. I re-visited the exact spots where Otto Frank took pictures of his youngest daughter Anne Frank. I layed the photos over the current views. I filmed the contemporary spots in black & white and coloured the original photos, to underline the contrast between the colourful world of Anne before the war and the grey world after the war from which the Jewish young children (literally) had been torn. The video was structured around a poem written by a girl who was 15 in 1992.”

Leave a Reply

