The Disappearing

The Disappearing is a new app with a place based focus that lets you explore poems about where you are right now. Especially if  you’re in Sydney! It’s a nice idea, and they promise to expand the range of poems later on, and you can submit your own poems right now. It’s got a great looking cover, and works well. Here’s the opening screen:

You then select a location, or use the location feature on your phone to find poems around you now.

The actual poems themselves are a bit plain looking, given the nice entry to the app, but it all works.

They say:

The Disappearing is an innovative new app for iPhone, iPad and Android that (literally) explores poetry and place.

Transform the world around you with new poems by some of Australia’s finest poets, who’ve created a poetic map charting traces, fragmentary histories, impressions and memories.

Beginning with a collection of over 100 poems about Sydney, The Disappearing will stretch across Australia during 2012.

Along with previously unpublished poetry, The Disappearing features exclusive videos of readings and interviews with poets.

Users can upload their own poems to The Disappearing, preserving ideas, emotions and experiences about their own environment that vanish over time.

I love the idea, but I’ve been half in love with disappearing landscapes for ever.  Witness my Suburban Margins Project. So, I’ll be following this project with interest, and maybe contributing too. Or maybe I’ll make some new maps of my own.

One thought on “The Disappearing

  1. I’m Prof Jaydeep Sarangi from Kolkata,India.I’m a bilingual poet-academic with several collections.I would love to meet you when I am in Wolongong this October.About me please google my name.I eagerly look forward to joint projects in future.my e mail id: jaydeepsarangi@gmail.com

    I’m really happy about it.Pl let me know if we can meet in October and take part in reading sessions.
    regards,
    Dr Jaydeep Sarangi
    editor,poet,academic and translator from Kolkata,India

Leave a Reply

